Meteor Shower tonight (Peaked Last night)

Share all your non-modelling related topics and funnies here.
User avatar
Georgeconna
Posts: 2028
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 12:31 am

Meteor Shower tonight (Peaked Last night)

Postby Georgeconna » Thu Dec 14, 2017 10:53 pm

Hey Lads,

Any of you in a Dark Sky area can see these, Just been out for 10mins and roughly one 1 minute of Varying brightness, Look SSE and upwards and you should see them :!:

If it's clear outside on Wednesday night (Dec. 13) and Thursday morning (Dec. 14) before dawn, be sure to go outdoors. One of the year's top meteor showers, the Geminids, will peak, with rates as high as one or two meteors per minute at around 10 p.m. your local time (wherever you're observing from). However, the show will start around 7 p.m. local time, according to the magazine Sky & Telescope.
But if you can't make it out, or if skies are gloomy, you can also watch a Geminids webcast here on Space.com courtesy of NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center in Alabama starting at about 6 p.m. EST (2300 GMT) on Dec. 13. The Virtual Telescope Project will also host a webcast here showing live views from Italy, starting at 5 p.m. EDT (2200 GMT) on Dec. 13, and Arizona, starting at 5 a.m. (1000 GMT) on Dec. 14.

The Slooh online observatory will also host a webcast at Slooh.com beginning at 9 p.m. EST (0200 GMT) for members who have registered with the site (registration is free).

"The Geminids are usually one of the two best meteor showers of the year," Alan MacRobert, senior editor at Sky & Telescope, said in a statement. "Sometimes, they're more impressive than the better-known Perseids of August." [Geminid Meteor Shower 2017: When, Where & How to See It Next]
Cheers

George

Image

User avatar
arni
Posts: 2303
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 9:23 pm
Location: Cheshire.

Re: Meteor Shower tonight (Peaked Last night)

Postby arni » Sat Dec 16, 2017 12:00 am

My bedroom and myself face south so will check it out. :D
Nigel.

User avatar
arni
Posts: 2303
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 9:23 pm
Location: Cheshire.

Re: Meteor Shower tonight (Peaked Last night)

Postby arni » Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:35 pm

'Twas cloudy!!
Nigel.


Return to “Non-Modelling Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests